Book Review: The Inmate

As I approached the final chapters of “The Inmate,” I couldn’t shake the feeling that it might end up as a run-of-the-mill read, perhaps deserving of just a 3-star rating. Sure, there were plenty of twists and turns along the way, but as someone who’s devoured their fair share of thrillers, I found myself piecing together the mystery a bit too easily. It felt like I’d seen this plot before, and I was worried that the book wouldn’t leave a lasting impression.

However, all that changed with the epilogue. It was like a bolt from the blue, completely unexpected and utterly mind-blowing. Instead of a neat and tidy conclusion, the epilogue left me pondering long after I turned the final page. Suddenly, my rating soared to a solid 4 stars, and I found myself reassessing the entire journey I’d just taken with the characters.

This was my first foray into Freida McFadden’s writing, and I must say, it won’t be my last. Her style is refreshingly straightforward and easy to follow, even amidst the tangled web of mystery she weaves. The characters felt like real people, with dialogue that rang true and internal monologues that offered intriguing glimpses into their minds. While I didn’t always agree with Brooke’s decisions, seeing the world through her eyes added depth to the story and helped me understand her motivations.

“The Inmate” has opened up a whole new world of suspense and thriller novels for me. I’m eager to dive into more books in this genre, eager to unravel the mysteries alongside the characters and get lost in the suspense once again.

Leave a comment